About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2016 Don Meyer Award

LSU Alexandria's Larry Cordaro accepts the 2015 Don Meyer award at the CollegeInsider.com Award's Banquet on April 3 in Indianapolis.

April 4, 2016


HOUSTON, TX -- York College's Delton Deal is the recipient of the 2016 Don Meyer NAIA National Coach of the Year.

Deal led York College to a record breaking season, winning a program best 25 games. Deal's team also advanced further in the postseason than any other team the program's history. The Panthers shocked the nation in their first round game as they became the first team in history to upset a number one seed in the first round.

In 38 seasons at Hamline, Lipscomb and Northern State, Don Meyer compiled an astounding 923-324 record. He led Lipscomb to the NAIA national championship in 1986, and coached the two highest-scoring players in the history of college basketball, John Pierce and Philip Hutcheson. Also, his 1989-90 team at Lipscomb won a record 41 games and was the highest scoring team in college history. 

In 2010, he received the John Bunn Award at the Basketball Hall of Fame. Meyer retired from coaching in February 2010. Coach Meyer lost his long battle with cancer on May 18, 2014, at the age of 69.


Chris Briggs Georgetown (Ky.)
Bob Burchard Columbia (Mo.)
Larry Cordaro LSU Alexandria
Delton Deal York (Neb.)
Josh Gamblin Mid-America Christian (Okla.)
Sean Hanrahan Warner (Fla.)
John Henry William Penn (Iowa)
Dave Holmquist Biola (Calif
Stan Holt Langston (Okla.)
Rocky Lamar MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
Rollie Massimino Keiser (Fla.)
Nic Nelson Briar Cliff (Iowa)
Mike Newell Dillard (La.)
Burt Paddock Davenport (Mich.)
Brandon Rinta Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Bryan Rooney Cal Maritime
Brennen Shingleton Texas Wesleyan
Greg Tonagel Indiana Wesleyan
Ryan Wall Our Lady of the Lake (Texas)
Dale Wellman Nebraska Wesleyan


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.