About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2017 Don Meyer Award

April 4, 2017


PHOENIX, AZ -- Dalton State’s Tony Ingle is the recipient of the 2017 Don Meyer award. The award is presented annually to the top NAIA coach in America.

Tony Ingle is a legend in the coaching profession and the top coach in NAIA this season. He led the Roadrunners to a 29-5 record this season and another appearance in the NAIA National Tournament, which the program won in 2015.

Ingle is the only person to coach at the high school, junior college, NAIA, NCAA Division II and Division I levels as a head coach. He’s also won 35 games in a season as a player and as a coach and led Kennesaw State to the NCAA Division II national championship before helping the program transition to the Division I level. 

“Coach Ingle has done just about everything in his coaching career,” said CollegeInsider.com’s Angela Lento. “He truly is one of the legends of the profession.”

Ingle is also an author and motivational speaker. He and his wife Jeanne have five children and five grandchildren.

In 38 seasons at Hamline, Lipscomb and Northern State, Don Meyer compiled an astounding 923-324 record. He led Lipscomb to the NAIA national championship in 1986, and coached the two highest-scoring players in the history of college basketball, John Pierce and Philip Hutcheson. Also, his 1989-90 team at Lipscomb won a record 41 games and was the highest scoring team in college history. 

In 2010, he received the John Bunn Award at the Basketball Hall of Fame. Meyer retired from coaching in February 2010. Coach Meyer lost his long battle with cancer on May 18, 2014, at the age of 69.








Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.